A Screenwriter Needing Help

Hi all,

I have a problem I wish you could help me solve. For the scenes header in my screenplays, I use the Courier font in bold, but find it a bit too thick. I would like to modify it and make it thinner so it does not stand out too much on the page comparing to the regular weight. I don’t need to modify all the glyphs, only the capital letters, and maybe the numbers and dashes.

I would appreciate if you could guide me to some tutorials and plugins to automate the process, or at least make the task as painless as possible. I am new to Glyphs, but have made a couple of logos with Illustrator so I am familiar with the pen tool.

Thanks in advance.

Start with the Get Started page. Take a look at the tutorials, then. There is one called opening existing fonts. What you need is the Offset Curve filter. It is documented in the Handbook.

And save and export your modified font under a new name. And do check if the EULA allows editing in the first place.

I appreciate the prompt response. This is regarding the Courier Prime font released under the SIL Open Font License (OFL), so it should be OK to edit it for my own use.

I will check the tutorials and write back if I encounter any difficulty. Thanks.

You could set up a multiple master project. That would be a bit more work but then you get much better results. Look for the tutorials about that.