Alternates workflow

Hi everyone. I am new to Glyphs and to font editing as well.
I need to create a font based on vectors from Illustrator, with Alternates for all Uppercase letters, both regular and bold.

Currently I am creating two Glyphs files, one for Regular and one for Bold, and everything seems fine.

Next step will be the creation of alternates, but I am not sure of what the ideal workflow should be…

Should I duplicate each letter with cmd+D, then paste in the alternative vector?

Where do I apply the naming convenction “aalt”?

Thanks in advance,
Fausto

The convention would be D.aalt (or D.alt01 or D.ss01, the latter for stylistic sets). Adding the dot tells the software to recognize it as an alternate for the D (D.alt01 will be recognized as a D in spell-checking or if you copy-paste the text; Dalt would be considered a separate character). Whatever you add after the dot doesn't matter, but there are some conventions and Glyphs relies on those for some automated tasks and features.

As a bonus, underscores are standard for ligature. So dots to say alternates (D.alt), underscore for ligatures (f_j).

Are you drawing your vectors in a different program and then pasting them or do you mean paste the original D? If the former, you should definitely give Glyphs a try for drawing vectors; it's weird to get into it, but it's much more powerful than Illustrator.

As for workflows, there are some standards, but this is one of those things I feel it’s whatever you are more comfortable with. Your method sounds good.

1 Like