Batch Changing Glyph Layer in Edit View Controller

Hi,

I am new to python and scripting in Glyphs. Here’s the effect I am trying to accomplish: for within the selected text in edit view, set the layer of all instances of a glyph to a specific layer. I noticed myself doing this quite often, as I wanted to compare different versions of a glyph in a string of text—but you will have to do it manually with each instance.

I looked through the documentation, and couldn’t find anything about setting a layer of a glyph to be the active layer in the edit view. I tried to come up with a solution where I remove all instances of the glyph, then re-insert it with the intended layer. However, I couldn’t find a way to insert a glyph at a specific index in the edit view. “Appending” at the end seems to be the only way to add text to the edit view, and I don’t seem to be able to “insert” at a desired index.

Is there any way to achieve this?

You can assign a list of layers to the edit view: Glyphs.app Python Scripting API Documentation — Glyphs.app Python Scripting API 3.0 documentation

if you like to set single layers, you can use this code:

masterId = Font.masters[1].id
range = (1,1)
textStorage = Font.currentTab.graphicView().textStorage()
textStorage.willChangeValueForKey_("text")
textStorage.text().addAttributes_range_({"GSLayerIdAttrib": masterId}, range)
textStorage.didChangeValueForKey_("text")
1 Like

Thank you, I will be trying to work out a solution based on these directions.

I wrote a script that works by setting all layers in the current tab to the desired layers. It worked well when there’s a small amount of text, but when I tested it on a tab with a lot more text it took a significantly large amount of time, even though the amount of glyphs in view are similar.

Here’s a similar amount of snippet that replaces the layer of all instances of ‘a’ to the 2nd one in the layer index:

font = Glyphs.font
tab = font.currentTab
layers = tab.layers

newLayers = []