Contextual glyph insertion

Hello!

I’m quite new to glyphs and typography.
I want to design a font where every lowercase letter is connected with a bar (much like in hindi fonts), but the bar can be at a higher and a lower position.

Instead of creating up to 9 contextual variations for every letter I wanted to solve this by inserting a “connector glyph” between every two letters.

I was experimenting with syntax like:
sub a b’ by a con_up_right;
or
sub [a b]’ [a b] by con_up_left [a b];

but I don’t get replacing a glyph with two glyphs to work.

Any ideas as how to solve this?

Christoph

Can you post some sample pics? I’m not sure I understand what you mean by ‘bar’ and ‘at a higher and a lower position’. higher/lower position towards the left side (previous glyph) or the right side (next glyph) or both?

Generally, you cannot ‘insert’ glyphs. You can only substitute a sequence with another. You may want to read an introduction to contextual substitutions.

Re first example: sub a b’ by a con_up_right; replaces the b (since it’s the marked glyph name), and the sequence a b will be turned into a a con_up_right. Is that what you want?

Re second example: If you replace a class like [a b], the replacement must be a class of the same size.

This is not true. It is possible to have one-to-many substitutions. But this is not very well supported. I do not think Indesign (at least v5.5) has implemented it for latin fonts.

And you can’t have contextual one-to-many substitution. can do something like this:

sub a by a connector;
sub a connector’ b by con_up_right;

Just checked again. It does indeed work in Indesign CS5.5 and CS6. You need to enable the World Ready Composer in CS5.5 (there is a script to do that. Have a look at this page by Thomas Phinney.

Here are two sample pictures:
(I only started the font yesterday, it’s not so beautiful right now.)

Perhaps I’m on the wrong path.