Creating a vertical font - tips?

Hi! I would like to create a font for use in vertical text only, similar to Japanese or Chinese writing, but not many symbols. I am totally new to this, never made any fonts but it’s time now. Are there any tutorials for this? I want to be able to align them all centrally down the vertical axis. And add things to some of the symbols on the right and/or left sides - perhaps that would come under diacritics in this app?

I’ll also want to be able to do the equivalent of ‘justify text’ - does that work with vertical lines of text?

Also as some of these symbols have nothing to do with any language, will it be easy enough to assign keys or key combinations to them? Or does that require creating not only a font, but also an input method? Like you can do when switching language on the Mac with the menu up top?

Many thanks for tips on how I can do all this (if I can) with this app!

P.S. Would this need the full or cheaper version of the app?

Not exactly sure I understand that. Can you share what exactly you are planning to do? A fantasy language? Or an emoji font? Perhaps also share a sketch. That would make it much easier to give you the answers you need.

You need to decide what is the job of the font and what is the job of the app that uses your font. I take it you want to create a (kind of) Latin font for vertical text setting, and the distance between the letters should be equal.

Theoretically, there are special functions for making Latin (or generally simple horizontal scripts) work with vertical CJK, but that is not applicable in this case. So I suggest you simply design your Latin letters to the same height always, e.g. between baseline and cap height.

Try the Get Started page. All the videos have links to tutorials. And in the Tutorials section, you get a bunch of tutorials listed under Basics.
And there are also online courses (some of them for free on YouTube) that show you how people work in Glyphs.