Exporting and Installing Colored Font

Hello,

I’ve created a font that has multiple masters. Everything has been smooth so far, but once exported as OTF, installed in Fontbooks, and brought into Adobe Indesign, the font isn’t showing up. The installation preview for the font is also blank in Fontbooks.

Have I missed a step to combine the masters somehow in one image? The colored fonts tutorial says to export as regular (this is my first time with Glyphs).

Thanks!

Read this:
https://www.glyphsapp.com/tutorials/eliminating-font-cache-problems
https://www.glyphsapp.com/tutorials/testing-your-fonts-in-adobe-apps

Okay but that doesn’t change my problem, the layers are not exporting together. Please offer a solution to combining the layers…

I have re-exported; I should also add that small bits of a dark color show up in the preview (I’m assuming this is one layer that shows) and I’m not sure why one but not all masters have exported in the font.

You said the font is not showing up. What exactly do you mean by that? Not showing up in the font menu?

Again, do not install in Font Book. You will run into font cache problems if you do.

Which kind of color font are you trying to make? Which tutorial are you following? InDesign supports only SVGColor Fonts and Layer Fonts.

Thanks for the quick response.

I’ve exported to the application support/adobe/fonts folder (and copied the OTF into Indesign’s font folder)

This is a layered colored font, multiple masters (all parameters are matched horizontally and vertically to First master). I’m using the Layered fonts tutorial. So in Indesign, the font use “usable” I can select the name and everything, but it just shows blank when I am typing.

Can you post a screenshot of a layer in glyphs?

Also, I deleted the Regular layer in this export, the typing preview is showing a light grey default font in the bg. Trying to bring back the original “Regular” master from an older file and copy metrics…