Glyphs Mini -path editing problems and bug

I’m new to the programme seeking a simpler OFT experience from Fontforge. I am finding it impossible to edit a path and the tools do not operate as expected or as the Handbook outlines. I am experiencing some weird and frustrating problems.

When it is working correctly, and it doesn’t always, the pen tool only produces corner points and there is no way to change the point to a curve. Double click does not work to change them, nor does hitting ‘return’ as the manual states.

On reopening the font Glyphs Mini all the orginal round points have been converted to square points. They were round when first opened from the save as. Those that were round points created in Fontforge, before the original save as, can be changed back to round ones as expected in GM. Newly added ones in GM cannot be changed.

Sometimes the pen tool does not create a point at all, instead it cuts the line, just as the knife tool should. See image below the blue triangles were made with the pen tool double clicking between the blue squares.

Scenario: Glyphs Mini Trial on Macbook running High Sierra. Font opened from a Fontforge OFT file then saved as a Glyphs file.

Here’s that second image14

To change a line to a curve, click the line segment with the Option key pressed.
Double clicking a node or hitting Enter when it is selected makes it a smooth node. That doesn’t make sense for a node between two line segment.

Consider watching the short Drawing Paths video on the Get Started page.

There may be a semantic misunderstanding. A segment can be a curve segment or a line segment. Nodes delimit the segments.

• Drawing with the Draw tool (shortcut P): click = line segment, click & drag = curve segment.
  • Editing with the Select tool (shortcut V): opt-click on line segment = turn it into curve segment