Importing instance definitions?

Is there a method or existing script for importing instance definitions from an external data source such as a text file or spreadsheet?

I have a bunch of masters in a .glyphs file, from which I want to interpolate a lot of instances. Rather than adding each one manually in the Glyphs UI, I would like to be able to define them in an external data source of some kind and then import them into Glyphs.

I’d like to piggy-back on this discussion!

My current project has 4 masters in Glyphs, I’ve used Superpolator to build out the 2 axis family of instances in a visual manner and now I’d like to find a way to import the Superpolator instances (22) into a multi-axis Glyphs MM file for production, kerning, OT features, brace layers etc. Maybe this is asking a lot of automation, but the translation of the Superpolator axis values to Glyphs axis values is alluding me.

Any help or insight would be appreciated, it seems as if there could be correlation in surmounting the obstacles John and I are facing at the moment.

It shouldn’t be too difficult to write a script to create the instances given a specified data file format for those definitions. What might your data file look like, @tiro_j?

@DaveBailey: I haven’t looked at the Superpolator file formats or axis definitions, but it might be possible to figure out a reasonable conversion between those axis values. I could take a look.

Feel free to send me email with the details.

Separately, if one was wanting to insert instances based upon one of the Luc(as), Pablo, or Maciej algorithms, there’s basic code in @mekkablue’s Insert instances script: https://github.com/mekkablue/Glyphs-Scripts/blob/master/Masters/Insert%20instances.py