Is it possible to interpolate fonts with round features?

I’m completely new to typeface design. I am a full time hand letterer so I design type all the time, just not full alphabets! I am designing a typeface that is really smooth, and I’m wondering if I ca interpolate it? From what I have read in the Glyphs blog, my understanding of interpolation is, you create a thin font, and a bold font, and interpolation can auto create widths in between. Correct?

But when I research it online, it seems the letters are made with nice crisp shapes, as opposed to the smoothness I have wherever a sharp point would normally be. That being said, I have textured versions of the fonts as well, which I doubt could be interpolated since that is something so organic, meaning tons of anchor points.

I had designed the different fonts before I had even heard about interpolation so the other route I could go is by each font of the typeface as it’s own master (regular, regular grunge, bold, bold grunge, plus the italic versions, plus the condensed versions, etc.) I have 24 different fonts in the typeface so maybe that is just way too many masters. Is that a good route to go? Like I said, since I am totally new to this so maybe what I’m asking should be done in a completely different way. Any tips would be helpful thanks!

Hi Nick,
Yes, interpolation is a way to automatically make a new weight/width/whatever by mixing multiple outlines. Outlines need to be point-compatible, which means that the number and the order of points have to be the same. As long as that is satisfied, you can interpolate any kind of design.

If you are talking about rounded corners, there is also a way to apply the round filter when you generate a font, using a thing called Custom Parameter. Rough Filter Is the same story.

Anyway, it’s all explained in the handbook. It’s not long. It’s a bit old, but very relevant to the current version. If you have more questions after that, I’m happy to answer.