Kerning pairs: is there a maximum amount?

I am totally new in making fonts and I hope to find an answer here or some tips regarding my issue. I want to develop a hand drawn font. My crossbars are curvy and quite elongated beyond the vertical stems. For this reason, I made a lot of kernings. My question: My uppercase alphabet (without numbers, accents, interpunctuations and lower case letters) has about 90 kerning pairs at present. I tested my uppercase letters with many example texts and I am pretty happy with the result but is it the case that this high number of kerning pairs may pose a problem when I go on like this? Should I delete all my kerning pairs and start again from the start with spacing (and avoid kerning as much as possible?).

I am really thankful for your remarks.
Best regards from Vienna

Yes. There is a maximum amount. It is not an amount of pairs though, it’s more complex. You will typically hit the ceiling after you cross 2k, 3k or 4k pairs.

Best is to optimize your spacing (left and right sidebearings) in such a way that you need as little kerning as possible.

I recommend you read both the Spacing and Kerning tutorials.

Ok. Thank you very much!

So I will start again :slight_smile: I did not know that you have tutorials here. Thank you for the recommendation.

Glyphs makes class kerning quite accessible and goes a long way to reducing overload problems.

Thank you very much!

It should be a uint16 value pairSetCount in the GPOS table so the maximum amount is 65536 (it’s tooooo large for a normal font).

The problem is that group-glyph and glyph-group kernings must be dissembled to individual glyph-glyph kern pairs. And one kern pair takes more than 1 byte, unfortunately. So it is way less than 64k.

On the good side, only the beginning of the kern subtable must be in the 64k limit. And you can have more anyway if you enable the Use Extension Kerning parameter.

But if you need that much kerning, the spacing is probably really bad.