Link metrics to first master custom parameter isn't (quite) working

hi—I’m making a multilayer family, and have gone through the tutorial to make sure I understand. when I get to linking metrics between masters, however, I begin seeing inconsistencies. (this is in 2.4.2. (991)): specifically, these:

sidebearings between masters are linked as expected, and behave as expected when nudged in master 1.

kerning between masters, is sort of linked in that I can’t edit kerning in masters 2-4 (as I would expect), but kerning from master 1 is not showing in any of the other masters.

however!

I changed a value in a kerning pair in master 1 to test, and looked at other layers. the visual change in spacing was reflected in master 2, but not masters 3 & 4. even stranger, when I flipped back to master 2 a second time, there was again no kerning displayed at all.

so I’m wondering if I have my masters linked and defined correctly for this to work. here’s what I have:

(there are no alignment zones defined in master 2-4 yet because I only have a couple glyphs drawn as yet.)

so, I’m kinda stumped about this one. anyone see anything obviously wrong?

Can you remove the parameter in the first master?

yes, I tried that too (that was actually the way I originally had it set up). same result.

as an update: the metrics export as they should (I tested in Photoshop and InDesign and also opened the resulting Opentype files in glyphs to check). it isn’t behaving only inside Glyphs.

Can you send me the .glyphs file?

emailed to info@.

of note: features are currently disabled for export since some of the characters are missing in everything but the main typeface, so the export would fail with features enabled. this thing with metrics linking was occurring with or without features enabled. (if it matters at all for your purposes.)