Peculiar result when opening font which suggests changing side bearings

This is in Glyphs 3 not 4. It may be that the font was originally designed in an earlier version of 3 to the one I now have.

When opening, I get this dialog:

…then a window showing the affected glyphs:

… but these glyphs already exist:

They were unlinked and combined to avoid the overlapping shadow you can see in the newly created duplicates. Weirdly there are now TWO versions of each, but only ONE in the font. Cutting and pasting the two into the same tab side by side leads to all kinds of weird behaviour.

Are you sure you’re not looking at a backup layer for the changed layers? The ((null)) indicates the layer name (empty), so it’s not a master.

Interesting. It has indeed created another layer called (empty) that isn’t in the original file. Switching between them, they both are the same, with the components (ie not combined)

:

No idea where the combined versions are!

An additional question – older fonts often invoke these “update alignment” dialog boxes. Why is this? Was there an error in the original, or has something in the way Glyphs works changed? I’m often at a loss as to what option here is the “correct” option. I’d not want to either override a correct alignment or not correct an incorrect alignment. Thanks.

It would not create a new layer. At least I have never seen it.
Can you send me the file in the state before you opened it?

Thanks, Georg – done.

The extra layers are already in the file. They contain components and the default layer are decomposed and possibly cleaned up paths. And the components were simply not aligned properly. That is correctly flagged and you should choose “Update Alignment” for all of them.

Thanks for having. look, Georg. I’m not seeing any extra layers in the original file – I do not remember adding any. In fact if you look at the grab before OKing the dialogue box with the realignment options, you can see that there is just the one layer (see grab), and the new one called (empty) only appears afterwards. Digging into the file, I see that if I select the ‘shadow’ layer I still get the component layer, and I can only see the decomposed and unified versions if I double-click on a glyph – it then swaps to the unified version, but only for that glyph. So in order to switch all glyphs to the right versions, it appears I need to individually select each in turn?

To clarify – once I’ve opened it and I then select the ‘shadow’ layer instead of the newly added (empty) layer.

Can you click just below the “Shadow” in the layer panel? I’m pretty sure there is another layer but its empty name is not showing.

No, because the panel needs to be OK’d beforehand, and that’s when the new layer is added.

I meant opening the file in Glyphs 3.

This is Glyphs 3.

Or in the versions you took the screenshot what only shows the main layer.

All the behaviour described happens in 3 (3.5 (3508)) and 4.

Sorry, Georg, not sure what you mean…?

There appears to no way to open the file without that dialog happening and the new later being added. I assume if I went back to the old version of 3 it was originally designed in, it might, but I don’t have that.

You showed screenshots that only have “Shadow” but no “(empty)”. How did you do those?

The dialog is in front – if you look, you will see it’s got a grey “knock back” shade over as it’s not addressable