Script to check if glyph is empty

Hi there,

I am a complete noob and I’m cobbling something together as I start learning the ropes of python and I figured I would try this exercise.
For my first attempt at python for glyphs I am writing a piece of code that prints the glyphs that are designed and those that aren’t.

This is my trial

for name in ['A','B','C','D']:
			thisLayer = Glyphs.font.glyphs[name].layers[masterIndex]
			myPath = thisLayer.paths

for thisPath in myPath:
				if thisPath is None: # checks if the glyph is empty to determine if the glyph is drawn
					notDesignedNames.append(name) # adds the name of the character not drawn to the list NOT WORKING
				else:
					designedNames.append(name) # adds the name of the character that is drawn to the list
					break

print("Font Info: ", thisFont,)
print("Master Info: ", thisMaster, masterIndex, "\n")
print(designedNames)
print(notDesignedNames)

However, I realise two errors (I’m sure there are many)

1. nothing is added to the notDesignedNames list
  2. this doesn’t work if a glyph is composed of only components

Is there any way I can circumvent this problem?

I think you mean to have:

masterIndex = 0
designedNames = []
notDesignedNames = []

at the top, right?

The reason nothing is added to notDesignedNames is because the statement if thisPath is None: will never be true. for thisPath in myPath: iterates over the paths that do exist in the layer. myPath won’t contain any that are None. Try adding print(len(myPath)) below myPath = thisLayer.paths and see if that gives you any ideas :slight_smile:

this doesn’t work if a glyph is composed of only components

You will need to check for shapes rather than paths in the layer for components

See the results of e.g.

for glyph in Glyphs.font.glyphs:
    for layer in glyph.layers:
        for shape in layer.shapes:
            print(shape.shapeType)

And check out the GSLayer and GSShape parts of the API docs for more info: https://docu.glyphsapp.com/