Set global guidelines to alignment zones

Hey there,

I’m thinking about a script that would set global guidelines to each alignment zone of each master (position+size) and, since I’m pretty new at programming I’m posting this topic in order to get some of the basic information/workflow about how this script should be built. Any suggestions?

Now I have a very basic scheme (Obviously I’m not using the syntax, it’s just a sketch):
· Master
· Alignement zones (position, size)
· Guideline (set guideline).

for master in Font:
        for i in master.alignmentZone:
            setGlobalGuideline

I’m in the right direction?

Thank you so much.

font = Glyphs.font # frontmost font
for master in font.masters: # iterate through its masters
	master.guideLines = [] # delete existing global guides (remove line if you do not want this)
	heights = [] # list for collecting all heights
	for zone in master.alignmentZones: # iterate through zones
		heights.append(zone.position) # add zone's pos to heights
		heights.append(zone.position+zone.size) # add zone's other end as well
	heights = set(heights) # trick for getting rid of potential duplicate entries
	for height in heights: # iterate through remaining heights
		newGuide = GSGuideLine() # create a new guide object
		newGuide.position = NSPoint(0,height) # set its position, y=height
		master.guideLines.append(newGuide) # add the guide to the master
1 Like

But why do you need the guides. The zones are kind of guides already.

1 Like