Single Line Variable Font

Buongiorno guys,
I have a dream: an open-path single line Variable font.

I’ll try to explain.
I paint signs by hand for a living, and I also develop typefaces.
Rarely do the two meet, until recently.

As part of my sign painting practice I need to produce what are called pounce patterns (perforated paper with artwork outlines we use to transfer onto the surface for painting). I used to accomplish this by drawing or printing (at great expense) my letters and going over them with a spiked wheel to perforate along the outlines. The result is a piece of paper with my letters perforated on it.

[Above you can see the spiked wheel and the holes on the back of the hand-perforated page below]

This is a lot of work so I have recently purchased a cutting plotter to help produce these paper patterns faster and more efficiently. It works great! But now I need an efficient way to layout words in Illustrator, a font would be great for that!
SO I went ahead and made a very basic mono-line script font in Glyphs. I’ve used Noodler to produce an even stroke keeping it very thin as I only want a the font to render as a line.

[above you can see the paths above and the Noodler instance below]

I’ve got it working well in Glyphs but if I want to send a print to the plotter I need only the outline information because this corresponds to the path the plotter head will make as it perforates the paper. I’ve been doing this by creating new glyphs containing the letters for a word placed as components, then I decompose everything and copy the paths to illustrator.

Then the perforation is handled by the plotter software which allows me to define the space between holes in millimetres. Here’s a picture of a successfully MACHINE perforated paper: