Subfamily is out of order is Adobe Menus

Hi all,

I am pulling my hair out trying to understand why this keeps happening. I’ve changed the weights, widths, etc to be chronological in numbers, but this particular font is giving me a lot of strange issues with ordering (I am not experienced well in glyphs at all)

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 12.52.47 PM

(Also I do not know why the Condensed Light Italic has a HUGE sample preview text)

When I investigated, I found a ton of elements like custom parameters, continue to revert and show up no matter how much I change these settings or delete them and export.

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 12.53.11 PM

![Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 12.53.44 PM|690x25
(upload://qMoMeGXz7jZJlh5uBWtbIxTDc2p.png)

(This is for a condensed medium italic weight, and the master name keeps reverting to “Extra Bold”)

(I suspect its this parameter that is messing with the orders, but I cannot get rid of it)

(more custom parameters, that I do not understand and will not go away. I don’t know enough to know if they are interfering with the order)

Help!

The order is determined by the weight and width classes in the instance settings. It is explained here: Naming | Glyphs

Yes, I appreciate the response but I meticulously set each width and weight to be ordered, only for it to revert to these weird custom parameters (me setting the weight to something like 800, only for it to be at 200 when I reopen the exported font).

There are also these things like “style map name” that won’t go away.

The order is being jumbled, and it’s not so clear to me why.

Can you send me that .glyphs file?

Sent!

Reopening the exported font in Glyphs is not a good way to test your fonts. Better use OTMaster or ttx or FontGoggles etc.

What is the best software for this issue in that case? I’m on a Mac

The goal is to redistribute the weights to be in order that I would like in the adobe menu.