SVG problems between Inkscape and Glyphs Mini

I’m very new to this, but think something is wrong here: Many svg files created in Inkscape appear to be corrupt and won’t be dragged into Glyphs Mini (trial version). And if I try copy and paste, it crashes Glyphs Mini. If I try an svg I know to be ok with copy/paste, it works - leading me to believe that something is wrong with the file. Any ideas here? I’m wasting time recreating svg files until I get one that ‘works’ in Glyphs Mini.

Can you send me some of the .svg files?

Sure, how do I do that on here? Or do you mean upload them to this thread?

Send me a direct message here in the forum and attach a .zip of the files.

Erm, I really can’t see how to do that in here!

I elevated your user level. You should now be able to upload files.

Thanks, but I doesn’t seem that I can upload svg files. Some letters I redo over and over and they just won’t drag into Glyphs Mini.

Compress the SVG files into a .zip file. Zip files can be uploaded to this forum.

Are you saving as Inkscape svg or plain svg? Inkscape svg won’t import into Glyphs (it has lots of Inkscape-specific stuff), but I’ve had no difficulty importing plain svg saved by Inkscape.

I’ve tried both - I’ve been fine with Inkscape SVG, but it’s just some files are not importing what ever I try.

The .svg contains some extra data that Glyphs mini doesn’t like. It seems to be a preview image? And the outlines contain a stroke. Font only support flat, filled outlines.

So save the image in the most basic format, without meta-data.

Thanks for that - though this basic process is still annoyingly a problem. I guess saving in Inkscape as an Optimized SVG allows me to remove metadata (why is there metadata anyway?) but I can’t save like this and get an error - I’ve posted a fuller query in Inkscape forum, but basic file using isn’t the sort of thing I thought I’d need to be asking about in the early stages of using Glyphs and SVG files - it’s pretty frustrating!