Variable font with uneven number of masters possible?

I have a font with 5 Masters

It has a weight axis and an optical axes with 2 masters each.

But the thinnest master is the same for both optical weights.

This works great with standard weithts:

Regular optical 1 88 -0
Bold optical 1 180-0

Regular optical 2 88-100
Bold optical 2 180-100

Thin optical 1 30-0
Thin optical 2 30-22

Is it possible to make this work with the variable export. And how?

So, Thin Optical 1 and 2 are the same?

Right now, you would still need to duplicate the master. You can autoupdate with some scripting perhaps.

In case you need a script that automatically adds your required master before export, write a message here :slightly_smiling_face:

That would be really wonderful :slight_smile:

Would you be able to detail your setup a bit more? I can either write a UI script for you to choose a master each time (more flexible and useful in the future), or a script that works specifically and only for your project (a lot faster to write). Here, or DM :slightly_smiling_face:

Oh, I thought you have one in the quiver.

Anyway, I have scripted it already. Much easier than expected. even for a rookie…

Thanks for the offer!

1 Like

I wonder about a similar question: Is it necessary to have an equal number of masters for each width axis?

Let’s take the design space as following. 2 axes: weight and width. The dots are masters, the numbers are rather arbitrary here.

100      200      400
  Narrow  100       ●        ●        ● 
  Normal  200       ●     ●     ●     ● 
   Wide   400       ●        ●        ● 

or must the number of masters (and probably then also the weight location) match among all width masters? Like so:

100      200      400
  Narrow  100       ●     ●     ●     ● 
  Normal  200       ●     ●     ●     ● 
   Wide   400       ●     ●     ●     ●