Where do you people learn all of this?

I was a designer/art director for about thirty years. My days were spent designing and hiring innumeral illustrators and freelance help.

I live in Boston, USA. Not once did I ever come across anyone that created fonts. Not once. Not even vaguely. I’m not looking to create a local FontCreators GetTogether (cool name huh?). I’m just curious how the brethren and brethetts (are there any brethettes here on the forums?) learned about fonts and font creation.

Obviously, from the technical depth of some of the forums, several people are professionally involved in font creation. Not interested in becoming a professional, just wondering where this invisible (to me) society lives and how you learned the craft.

D

I’ve learned a lot from Typophile over the years.

Literature, lectures, discussions, calligraphy.
There are brethettes.

Conventions, the internet, classes, and a lot of books.

Robert Bringhurst The Elements of Typographic Style and www.briem.net got me started.

DTF,
Classes? Where? Are you in Europe, North America or elsewhere? Any good book references. My bibles are:
Designing Type by Karen Cheng
and
Learn FontLab Fast by Leslie Cabarga

rosaiani,
the briem.net reference was nice. I really liked the discussion of thorn and eth seeing as I’ve never seen either in the wild.

Classes? Where?

Manhattan, classes are available at SVA and Cooper Union.

Also: http://www.typeworkshop.com/index.php?id1=type-basics this is pretty good beggining info from Underware

dglen, this other link http://diacritics.typo.cz/ is also a very good reference for diacritics.

DTF:
Thanks for the tip. I go to NYC often and have a place to stay if needed. I’ll check the schedule of their classes. Assuming, of course, that they have open courses to the public.

rosaiani: