Your most valuable Tips & Tricks in Type Design!

Hi, my name is Britt and I’m new here, and I really hope you can help me! I have been a typography teacher for over 10 years at different art academies in The Netherlands, which I love. Since a few weeks I’m also organising my own courses to private students, which I love even more:-)

I have a small group of people, from different countries, different ages, different experiences. One thing the have in common: THEY START LOVING TYPE! Since we are heading to our last lesson I would like to give them something extra. I think the most valuable thing I can give them are tips and tricks from YOU.

So do you have any tips and tricks (preferably in Glyphs) that you would like to share about making the perfect outline?

Thanks a million, especially from my students! Have a great weekend:-)

1 Like

close your computer and look at what you have made for at least 30 minutes and makes notes on your work (I recommend a red pen). That’s what I do with my students because I noticed that they never really look at what they are making

1 Like

Hi Britt, here is a tip that saves me so many hours and frustration, I don’t even want to think about all the time I wasted doing this manually, no knowing there was a better way.

When designing a glyph that derives from another glyph, it’s best to use components to build the new glyph. For example, ä (adieresis) can be build from a and dieresiscomb. But what to do if simple stacking does not work? ʑ (zcurl) is like a z, but its outline seamlessly flows into a curl at the end. It’s difficult/impossible to use components in this case.

Then I discovered Mask to Master, a script from the Freemix collection by @TimAhrens. (Installable from the Plugin Manager → Scripts.) Mask to Master aligns the selected nodes to the background. One click, or even better, one shortcut: