Creating Swashes

!
As you can see in the photo I would like to add a swash feature to the beginning and ending of all my lowercase letters at the end of the word and uppercase as the beginning of the word. I am a beginner. I have created about 7 different swashes in illustrator identically for the left and right sides to match. Could someone send me an example code of how I would make this work? Would I use CALT and sswh code? Also in my example, if I just create a stylistic alternate for a few letters, I would need to edit the letters in order for my end steams of the previous letter to match.

What you need is a so-called Opentype feature. There are a few tutorials about them. In particular you need the one in the Positional Alternates tutorial. Look for the code of the initial and final lookups, and adapt to your needs. It is up to you if you want to put the lookup in calt (on by default, user can disable it) or swsh (off by default, user can enable it if the software supports it).

If you don’t understand what the tutorial is about, start with part 1 of the feature tutorials: https://glyphsapp.com/tutorials/features-part-1-simple-substitutions

Hello Thank You however as you can see here my s swash does not work. Maybe my code is incorrect. I also refreshed and save but still nothing. Please advise

Additional photo

You need to use the ignore statement as described in the tutorial.

I definitely must be doing something wrong because I cannot get it to work

• do not use space as context
  • use lookups
  • start the lookups with the ignore statement, because an ignore statement is valid for everything until the end of the lookup
  • use the final lookup from the tutorial as starting point, adapt it for what you need
  • put the lookup inside the calt code

Can you try reading the tutorial again, and tell me what you do not understand in the text? Perhaps I can make the text more accessible if something is hard to understand.