Do You Have Any Quick Spacing Tips For My Font Design?

Hello!

I’m a beginner at font-making. I’ve been using Glyphs for two weeks.

I downloaded the program because I wanted to create my own font to go alongside my digital art.

At this stage I’m not so focused on getting too technical, and just want to make sure that at the very least the font spacing is okay.

I’ve adjusted the spacing according to these articles: (1) Spacing | Glyphs (2) https://www.societyoffonts.com/2018/09/26/spacing-a-font-part-2/

Can anyone take a look at the font I’ve uploaded, and give me any spacing tips that I can immediately apply?

Megstarchristmas-23.glyphs (52.3 KB)

Welcome! When you type out the alphabet between pairs of H, you get an impression of the proportions and spacing of the letters in context:

Some things stand out:

Symmetrical letters should have identical sidebearings left/right (A, N, O, T, X, Y)
In the image, the H appears very narrow in relation to the other letters. I suggest you make the H wider until the visual difference in the image is reduced. A good starting point would be to make the H as wide as the N.

Bildschirmfoto 2021-11-30 um 09.54.30

Letters with vertical lines, such as H, look too small compared to letters with flat tops and bottoms, like E or Z. Because of the round stroke endings, those vertical strokes must be a little bit longer so they look the same. It is just a small amount that makes the difference:

The same applies to letters with round tops or bottoms, like O.

Will there be lowercase letters at some point? Spacing an all-caps font is different from spacing caps mainly for use as initials with lowercase text.

1 Like

Hi @jkutilek!

Thanks for replying. I appreciate any feedback at this stage.

Your comments make sense and the screenshots make it easy to understand.

Agreed, detail makes perfect. For this font style I only plan on creating all caps, but I’ll take that into consideration.

Hope you have a good day.