FI FL glyphs still needed?

I was wondering if FI and FL glyphs for cap substitution of fi and fl ligatures are still needed. What do you think?

They have never been needed. In my 45+ years as a typesetter I never encountered cap versions of the /fi /fl ligs except perhaps in a highly stylized display face.

In design shurely not (FI glyph is the same as F and I set together).
But what about backwards compatibility of older font formats where it was included?

When has it been included and in what format? I’ve been making digital fonts since 1985 and have never seen it, except for all-caps fonts where caps are put into the lowercase character slots (in addition to the caps slots). Oftentimes FI and FL small caps are included, depending on how the small caps are implemented.

FWIW, layout engines are usually smart enough to change fi and fl ligatures to F I and F L (separate characters) when changing case if the ligatures are entered directly (shift-option-5 and shift-option-6 on Macs).

They are set just as an /F and /I.

I’ve been working with type since hot metal was transitioning to phototype and I have never seen a font in metal, phototype or digital which included those ligatures.

Thanks for your aswers (I’ve seen quite some).

Can you give some examples?

Alverata

Alverata, designed by Gerard Unger, based on Romanesque stonecarvings c.1000-1200 AD. An article on the origin of his design explains that the design contains some unusual letterforms.

The FI/FL certainly has to be included in “unusual letterforms”. The two ligatures are non-Unicode glyphs and after examining the character shapes, comparing them to the stand-alone glyphs, they are not variants – which I thought they might be. Variants would be the only reason for their existence in my experience.

In the article about the origin of the design, this was written: