Glyphs or Glyphs Mini?

I am a visual designer working 98% of the time on the web and I’ve just started using the trial of Glyphs Mini as a means of moving some of our commonly used iconography into a font. Its kind of a specialized use of the program but will really help to simplify our markup. I am definitely planning on at least buying Glyphs mini but am liking the app so much (particularly in comparison to its competition) that I am considering saving up for the full version. I am not a typographer but playing with Glyphs encourages me to think I could at least experiment in that area.

So, my question is, are there aspects of the full version that I would miss in Glyphs Mini if I were mostly using the software to create specialized iconographic fonts. Also, has anyone started off with that kind of limited use and found it easy to leverage that knowledge into building a typographic font?

Thanks,

Phed

The things I’d miss most if i had to do with mini instead of the regular version:

• Python scripts
  • layers and multiple master (interpolation)
  • plugins
  • custom parameters
    If you buy the full version, I don’t recommend buying it in the AppStore. :slight_smile:

And as for your last question, I recommend taking a class or a workshop to see if it’s something for you. Perhaps you’re a natural :wink:

Hello,
Will I lose any ligature features already in place if I work on a font using Glyphs Mini? I know I can’t create new ones except automatically.
Best,
Peter

If your ligature features are all automatically created, it shouldn’t be a problem.

I purchased Glyphs Mini and opened up an icon font I created with the trial version of Glyphs. However, I noticed that the glyphs I created are in the incorrect order. Additionally, when I exported the font, it only outputted five glyphs, even though I have a total of 212 glyphs. When I originally created the font, I set custom Unicode values and checked the “Don’t use nice names” option.