Help with pixels from illustrator to Glyphs

Hey guys, I’m new to type design and have recently bought Glyphs to try it out.

My workflow includes copying Illustrator to Glyphs as there are certain shapes I find it easier to control in Illustrator. However, as I zoomed it closer I find that some of my paths have moved despite I have adjusted the same pixel on illustrator.

I really do need your expertise to help me with this matter! (Top is illustrator and bottom is glyphs)

In fonts, all coordinates are rounded. That can be disabled if the fonts really has very fine details. But that is not the case with your outlines.

It seems that there is an extra node very close to the end of the white spike. I’m quite certain that is can be removed without changing the shape.

And I wonder what you can do better in Illustrator?

Hi George,

Thanks for the reply and I’m still a little confused is it possible to set up some sort of stream on Zoom? I’m more than happy to pay for your time.

When I delete the nodes it completely changes my shape of my letteroform.

Put the original shape in the background (Path > Selection to Background), then delete the point and then it should be easy to reconstruct the shape.

Right after you pasted from Illustrator, the coordinates are not rounded. If you remove the extra nodes before anything else, the automatic shape will be much better.

Hi George,

Thanks for your reply again.

As you can see I deleted the nodes the and it completely changes the shape.

Also my concern this isn’t just one letter. If I have to repeat, I’m gonna end up repeating for the other letters which may make the typeface look inconsistent.

As you can see this is how the shape looks like in illustrator? I’m not quite clear as in what aspect am I not getting.

Can you send me the .ai file?

Is there an email I can send to?

Apparently, I can’t upload the Ai. file here.

Try zipping the file and post that.

I’ve included the letter N & V.