How do I make a font with special glyphs that replace specific sequences of normal glyphs

Hi there,

I am extremely new to this and it’s my first time attempting anything that has to do with making fonts. I would appreciate any indication on where I should start if I wanted to make a font that would replace various sequences of glyphs with special glyphs. For instance, the font would draw a magic wand (that I design) everytime somebody types “magic”

Thanks in advance!

After a bit of research, it seems that I can achieve it with open type ligatures.

Would anyone have any advice on how to proceed if let’s say I wanted the font to only ever show the special sequences? (I have control over the input and I would like to exclude certain characters from displaying

As opposed to what?

Can you give an example, perhaps show your design?

I don’t really have finished designs but let me try to explain better.

A font is probably not the best solution to what I’m trying to achieve but given my constraints, it is the only solution.

• I have an input text coming from a third party. Let’s take as an example to illustrate dates that are formatted as Month + Day + TimeFrame (ex: “July 17 from 9 to 10”)
  • In the client context that I have, I can only use text with the possibility of custom fonts. And I want to display a drawing instead of the text. So following my dates example, I would like to have a drawing that shows a square with the month abbreviation and the date number beneath it. I would look like this icon :calendar:
  • Form my understanding so far, I need to create a ligature for “July 17” and every other date combination (still looking into how to automate it) but I also want the part that says “from 9 to 10” to be completely ignored and not take any space

I feel that I’m making very small steps in understanding how things might work but still far from having a “production” solution, so I would appreciate any help that I can get.