How I made a Single Stroke(monoline) font

Hello all! I’m a hobbyist with an Axidraw plotter, looking to use fonts of my own creation for use with the plotter, both for lettering and rendering generative work. After a good deal of research and experimentation, I’ve managed to come up with a workflow that I think is satisfactory.

I think that this approach may also help others with similar questions; I was greatly helped in my search by other topics about single-stroke typefaces and CNC usage.

The most straightforward option — putting the closing anchor far outside the glyph boundary — didn’t appeal to me because it meant I couldn’t preview my work accurately in real time. My intention to use this font to set large blocks of ‘text’ also meant that selecting and finding these anchors would be a chore. Setting all of the text inside the Glyphs Text preview was also unworkable, as I want to eventually be able to do things like layer text fields over one another. I could not figure out a way to generate .otfs without the paths being automatically closed (either by the renderer or by glyphs), and I do not have the programming knowledge to parse and modify .otfs on my own.

So I thought I’d share my workflow in the hopes that others will find it useful. Here are the tools I used:

• Glyphs.app
  • FontForge
  • Inkscape with Hershey Text plugin
  • Sublime Text with the RegReplace (facelessuser.github[dot]io/RegReplace/) plugin
  1. I start with the Monoline workflow in the relevant Glyphs Tutorial glyphsapp[dot]com/tutorials/monoline). However, I make two instances: Monoline and Preview. Preview will end up as an .otf font that I can install directly on my system, and Monoline will be an .svg-format (yes, the outdated and almost totally unused format) font, which will be used by Hershey Text in the final steps.