How to properly create different versions of a font?

Hi there,

I started this font in 2021, and am now getting back into it, but after doing some research on Masters, I think I set the font up completely wrong. I can’t export as an .otf without setting up axes, and I cant export as a variable font because it says my characters aren’t compatible. My goal is to create a font that has options for it like: Regular, Split Bar, Slab Serif, and Slab Serif Split Bar.

Ideally, I imagined that when someone used the font in adobe illustrator, for example, they would begin to type with the Regular version of the font. If they wanted to change the font into Split Bar, they could go up to the character styles drop down and click “Split Bar” similar to how you can choose Bold, Italic, etc.

I’m relatively new at all this and am having a hard time figuring out how to complete this when there are more/different nodes in these other Masters than there are in the Regular Masters.

Basically, am I completely lost? Are different Masters not how I would go about making this happen? Is this even possible? Is this considered a variable font? Ideally in the future, I’d like to make handwritten fonts that have options like “Regular” and “Stroke Texture” so that users can choose if they’d like texture on their font or not.

Unfortunately I can only upload one image, but any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Based on how you think the font should work, make individual fonts. At any rate, making a variable font is not possible when Masters do not have compatible outlines. It doesn’t sound like making them compatible in this case would be easily done, if at all possible.

You can achieve having the styles all neatly grouped into one family. They won’t work as a variable font, of course, as you have completely different outlines. You can do one of two things: