I think I broke my pyobjc install (and Glyphs is not happy!)

Hi there!

I am relatively new to installing python libraries/modules in OSX, and I believe I have made some error, as Glyphs seems to be upset now.

I was trying to install a library called pywebview, which I believe may have inadvertently messed with the installation of pyobjc? But I can’t be sure.

When I installed plugins that are in the plugin manager, for instance, Glyphs is throwing errors on boot, into the python output window.

———————

For instance with Word-O-Mat installed, upon starting Glyphs I see the error:

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "main.py", line 10, in <module>

_run('plugin.py')

File "main.py", line 8, in _run

execfile(path, globals(), globals())

File "plugin.py", line 17, in <module>

from GlyphsApp.plugins import *

File "GlyphsApp/GlyphsApp/plugins.py", line 141, in <module>

TypeError: Error when calling the metaclass bases

First argument is not an 'objc.informal_protocol' but 'objc.formal_protocol'

———————

Additionally, when I try to write scripts that use the Glyphs.addCallback call from the API, the app crashes. For instance I was adding a callback for DOCUMENTWASSAVED, and upon saving my Glyphs file, the app crashes to desktop instantaneously.

Any idea why this is happening, and what I can do to resolve it?

Thank you!

Attempting to run various scripts I have written for Glyphs, I consistently see the same error:

First argument is not an 'objc.informal_protocol' but 'objc.formal_protocol'

Does this point to a particular way that I may have overwritten or otherwise disturbed some element of my python install?

If you think your pyobjc is broken, you can just try reinstall it :slight_smile:

Try:
pip install --upgrade pyobjc

Optionally, first uninstall it:
pip uninstall pyobjc

(You might need to use the --user flag for the install, after --upgrade, if it does not let you install without)