Improving Postscript / CCF hinting

I’m still new to hinting and I’d like to learn more about how to improve PS hinting. From several [1] sources [2] around the typo-sphere it seem the future is in CFF webfonts.

(on Windows) Whenever I look at Glyphs app made autohinted CFF webfonts (which I understand uses the Adobe autohinter) at text sizes (12pt to 24pt), I don’t like the results, especially in ClearType GDI.

GDI:
No hinting:
Autohinted
The rhythm and proportions get really messed up and the stems and other areas in general are fuzzy. When there is no hinting, the rhythm and proportions are better but it’s illegible at text sizes due to being extremely fuzzy. One glaring issue is the cross bar of the e.

DirectWrite: a lot better but the problem of the e glyph persist.

How can I improve my PS hinting? Particularly, the proportion and spacing, and glyph details.

I’ve read the Glyphs tutorials but what it suggests that I can do is no better than what autohinting does. I’ve tried changing the stems and even used stemHist and setsnap.pl from the AFDKO with no better results. I looked at the results from FontLab and they’re only a little bit better with the proportion and spacing in smaller sizes.

Thanks in advance

Resources I’ve found so far:

The problem with PS hints is that you can’t do much. There, you have to rely on the renderer. With Truetype, you have much more control and it usually results in a sharper but much bigger difference from the original design. It is kind of like the difference between Mac and Windows rendering. Windows is a bit sharper but it is more difficult to distinguish different styles, or even weights at smaller sizes because the outlines are aligned more strongly with the pixel grid. The windows rasterizer for OpenType fonts became much better in recent years that it might be possible to use CFF based fonts, especially for sizes bigger than ~16px. For smaller sizes, it will most likely be better to use TTF.