Interpolating MM across optical axis

Hi all,

I’m a design student in the South-West of England. I’ve been using Glyphs App to design my first ever typeface design which I feel has been a resounding success. The question that brings me to the forum is a fairly basic one; having set up two extreme multiple master variants I’d like to know whether or not it is possible to interpolate between the two variants across different optical sizes of the typeface in Glyphs App.

Any reply would be massively appreciated, I’ve searched high and low but found no answer as of yet!

M

if the outlines are compatible you can interpolate anything. Did you read the Multiple Master tutorials?

HI Georg,
Yes I’ve read the tutorials pretty extensively. Perhaps I’m not explaining my intentions fully? I have designed two variations of my typeface. What I would like to do is have the initial style graduate to the second more extreme variant as the pt size of the typeface increases in publishing software.

I know this can be achieved by creating a multiple master along an optical axis and then by selecting the little used ‘automatically use correct optical size’ option in Adobe InDesign. What I’d like to know is; is this possible specifically in Glyphs App and how to assign my two variations (and interpolations) to the intended point sizes?

Many thanks,
M

Just to clarify further:

“Some multiple master fonts include an optical size axis, which lets you use a font specifically designed for optimal readability at a particular size. Generally, the optical size for a smaller font, such as 10 point, is designed with heavier serifs and stems, wider characters, less contrast between thick and thin lines, taller x height, and looser spacing between letters than the optical size for a larger font, such as 72 point.”

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/indesign/cs/using/WSa285fff53dea4f8617383751001ea8cb3f-6e 29a.html#WSa285fff53dea4f8617383751001ea8cb3f-6e18a

Thanks,
M