Organization of Classes

I am relatively new to glyphs and may be, I just did not find the right way.

In Fontlab, editing and viewing the content of classes ist very easy. Visually based, one could say. Drag and drop. Show glyphs in font view with one click and so on.

But in Glyphs, I have no control. I have no visual preview of the glyphs. And I can not show the contents of a class in the font window, so I have no doubt, if all required glyphs are in there.

The available Scripts aren’t really helpful(e.g new tab with ot class) because I don’t see, which glyphs could be missing. Also the Font Info Window seems to be unscriptable, isn’t it?

So, how do you guys organize and control your classes? Or did I overlook the obvious?

Fontlab:

Glyphs:

1 Like

In Glyphs 3 you can Option-click a glyph name to show a preview or Option-click as class name (like @SomeClass) to show all members of that class.

You can script classes using font.classes.

That is a good point. We are working on the feature UI and will consider this.

2 Likes

But font.classes belong to the font, not the font info window, right?

By the way, drag and drop for glyps would also be very helpful for the font tabs. Especially when working with foreign scripts, it could be painful to add glyps. If I could drag them from the font view or better from the external small glyph viewer (don‘t know the name of this in 3 new window), it would speed things up a lot.

1 Like

Yes, but you can not view it in the sorrounding of the other letters: in the font view. That makes it hard to consider, if something is missing.

The “font” is the entire Glyphs file, not just a single exported font file.

yes, but it covers not the UI, does it?

Depends on what you want to do. You can use it to script the classes, but not the interface in the Features tab. A visual editor is as @GeorgSeifert mentioned in the works.

You could script the UI, too. But it is not easy :wink:

A few thoughts on organizing OT classes.