Overlap areas within paths not appearing in font

This might be a dumb question, but oh well. I am trying to make a font using hand-drawn and scanned art, then will image trace in Illustrator. I am not interested in redrawing the whole thing in Glyphs Mini or Illustrator. I’d like some areas of white to appear within the letters for a distressed look. The paths show up in Glyphs, but fill in for the actual font. I’m new to Glyphs, but not new to Illustrator or Photoshop. This font will be used in-house, and not sold for public use.

Thanks!

Paths in fonts do not have white and black areas. The outermost counterclockwise path is filled, clockwise paths inside of it are not filled. Your path directions may all have got set the same direction. Also make sure that your paths are closed. Open fonts are removed when the font exports. If this doesn’t fix things open your compiled font file in Glyphs and compare it to your working file and see if the unfilled areas are in the compiled font.

I have no idea what you mean by “outermost counterclockwise path” vs “clockwise paths inside”. just did image trace and let illustrator make the paths, cleaned up a few, then did the ol copy / paste. If I do a large gap inside, say for a letter a, it keeps that. But I have little holes for a distressed look, and it ignores those. This one I’m working on now is a very quick trial dummy. So in other words, I scanned in a quick scribble and have done nothing to clean up the paths. The less clean-up I have to do after I scan in my linework, the better, as I’m on a tight deadline. I’m trying to design 3 different fonts to use, and would like a distressed look similar to this as one option.

I’ve attached a screenshot of the images side by side:

You’ll notice that the preview of the letter does not have the distressed gaps that the original in Illustrator does.

Is there a simple fix for this? :pray: