Overlapping inverse shape on ligatures

Hi!

I’m new to Glyphs and have encountered a problem that doesn’t seem to be addressed directly in any other topic. When I export my script font and open it in Photoshop or Illustrator, there is an apparent overlap of characters in front of or after ligatures (ligatures only). It creates a hole the shape of the character’s overlap. I’m guessing this might be something obvious since I’m only getting this on the ligatures?

Can anyone help?

35%20AM

First thing to try is, in Glyphs, Edit > Correct Path Direction (or Cmd-Shift-R) with all contours selected.

1 Like

It worked! Thank you so much!

Actually it fixed my problem but now I’m getting a new one. Some of the paths on my characters have become warped (mostly straightened instead of curved) on export only. See below my path in Glyph vs. the exported version on Illustrator:

27%20PM
54%20PM

The node type you see is a Corner when it should be a Smooth You can fix this by either selecting the node and hitting Return or you can try the Paths -> Tidy Up Paths menu item. Corner is a blue square by default and smooth is a green circle node shape.

Two valuable items to look at, as it appears you are new to drawing in Glyphs:

and https://glyphsapp.com/tutorials/drawing-good-paths

Also, your paths are cut off in Illustrator due to a lack of proper vertical metrics data.

Thank you for your help!

I tried tidying up the paths and even changed a few nodes manually to the green circle nodes, but even then, I’m still having the same issue. Any other ideas on what could be causing the problem?