"Previous Layer" doesn't really go to previous layer

Hi! I’ve noticed a weird behaviour of the command Edit > Other > Previous/Next Layer.

If I have a file with one master and several non-master layers, this command switches between Regular and Layer 1, and then comes back again to Regular. So whenever I press “Previous layer”, it only operates between the master and first non-master layer beneath it, but ignores all others.

Just to see how it will behave, I added another master there and brace layer. In that case Previous Layer command goes: Regular > Layer 1 > {500} > Bold > Regular and so forth. Still ignoring other layers. And if I press “Next Layer”, it even ignores the Layer 1.

I was wondering if there is a way to go around that – I would assume that the “Layer” command is there especially for the cases like this, when I want to switch between non-master layers.

Thanks!

The command is supposed to only go to master layers.

I see, but then what is the difference between Edit>Other>Next/Previous Master and Edit>Other>Next/Previous Layer?

The “layer” commands will goto any “special” layer, like color, brace, bracket …

Then wouldn’t it be better to call that command “Next/Previous Master or Special Layer”? I agree that it would be useful to have a command that goes sequentially through layers in the order they are shown in the UI, regardless of whether they are color, brace, master, etc. — there are plenty of situations where this would be better than having to click through them in the UI.

Alternatively, is there a way to do this with a python script (including changing which layer is displayed in the UI)?

You can build a script that select the next layer. But filtering the list is not possible (there are some options in the next version).

direction = 1

editViewController = Font.currentTab
layer = editViewController.activeLayer()
graphicView = editViewController.graphicView()

layers = layer.parent.sortedLayers()