Question about italic

Hi, I’m new to Glyphs and type design in general. Therefore, forgive me if I ask a question that may seem trivial and obvious to you.
I’m creating a font, but I have a doubt. After creating the two master axes for the weight, I was wondering if for the italics I have to work on a separate file, or can I create the masters for the italics in the same file.
It’s true that if I use the same file, I can’t differentiate the style of some characters (eg the a), so my idea is that I have to work on a different file for my italic.
Thanks for a clarification.

Welcome!
Yes, it is advised that you separate the italic if your lowercase designs change (typically a, g, etc.). The problem of putting everything in one place in such a case is something called group kerning; you want VO and VC (and VG VÖ VÇ…) to be kerned by the same value but wouldn’t want to do all that individually by hand. Instead, you give the round letters a kerning group name (on the left side of the glyphs in this case) and kern against the group. That is group kerning, and the group setting is shared across all masters.

And ‘all masters’ is the tricky part, since your lowercase a may as well belong to [o c e] group on the left, thus needing different a group structure.

If you think this doesn’t apply to the style you’re making, you can have everything in one place.

1 Like

Since I’m going to change the styling of the a and g, that’s the same conclusion I came to. You confirmed. Thank you so much for the clarification and thanks for the welcome.

:slight_smile:

You can change a and g and still work within one file, just keep them as separate glyphs and switch shapes. I think oblique/slanted design is easier to keep within one file to keep track of everything, and go separate for cursive/italic where design differs more and switching shapes becomes unreasonable.

1 Like

That’s a good point. I can see it can work depending if the amount of switching necessary is low.