I’m not sure if it is still a thing in the latest cutting edge versions, but I just remembered that renaming either of those components doesn’t rename it’s instances where used in other glyphs. The glyphs with those components will stay intact as long as one reopens the file. Then the connection is lost – of course – since it references to a glyph that doesn’t exist anymore.
That is a known problem. It is one the list.