Simple Asymmetrical Scaling

I am brand new to Glyphs and just feeling my way around now but I’ve worked with vectors a lot in Fontlab and Illustrator. Right off the bat Glyphs scale tool is driving me crazy.

I am just trying to scale a figure horizontally from my own ref point. The scale tool seems to insist on scaling the vertical too. No combination of keys will stop it.

At first I thought the scale tool worked similarly to illustrator’s and I would prefer that to the way Fontlab’s scaling tool works. But it doesn’t seem to work like either. This should be a super simple operation but I am stumped.

I know I am probably missing something really obvious here but I can not figure it out. Really frustrating!

Any tips??

The Scale tool is only for quick rough scaling. Better use the bounding box (you may need to activate it through the View menu), or, if you know the target width, select what you want to scale and type the desired new width in the grey info box (View > Show Info, cmd-shift-I). Open the lock symbol to disable proportional scaling.

I am adjusting to a lot of new information here. But you’re saying the scale tool is basically useless? Wow…

I am used to working more visually. Choosing a reference point and then scaling from that point seems like a very basic vector operation.

The bounding box only gives me the option of left, right or centered ref point. Not very functional for a lot of the things I need to do.

I know Glyphs is a really capable app and you guys do great stuff with it. But forcing me to work like that will require a lot of frustrating trial and error to achieve something pretty simple and really slow down my workflow.

Scratching my head here…

1 Like

The highest precision is entering the exact dimensions you need or snap-scaling it with the bounding box, which I assume is quicker than the scale tool in AI, because you will have to do some adjusting afterwards anyway since the ref point is set freehanded.