Support for SF Symbols 4

Hi everyone and happy new year!

I am again considering to use Glyphs for creating SF Symbols, after doing it for a brief time two years ago. The goal is to have a good workflow for creating home-related symbols, like custom lamps.

I have a few questions and/or feature requests. I am new to Glyphs, and never designed a font, but I am amateur level familiar with other vector apps. None work well for SF symbols in my view and I am confident Glyphs can be a good app for this with a few changes and additions to the SF symbol plugin/workflow.

1. Variable Templates

An SF Symbols template needed 27 symbol variants, and Glyphs does a great job interpolating them by having the designer specify only 4 variants: Ultralight/Small, Black/Small, Ultralight/Large and Black/Large. However most commonly the Regular to Bold variants are used and those are only optionally designed, and interpolated by default.

The new Variable Templates in SF Symbols 4 solve this by letting the user design only the Small versions of Ultralight, Regular and Black. Interpolation to other sizes and between weights is done by SF Symbols, Glyphs would not have to interpolate anymore. But I could use its great tools to spot interpolation errors, a feature only Glyphs has.

My Question: Are Variable Templates planned to be supported? Can I somehow help in making this happen? It would make things a lot easier.

2. Symbol Variants

Many symbols have variants, especially a “filled” variant. If I created a symbol, e.g. a lava lamp, it would be great to have some sort of easy way to switch between filled/plain versions and have changes in one affect the other. I know that some “templaty” things already exist in Glyphs that can be used, but not being a font designer I am a bit confused and would love to hear how others are doing this.

3. Improved Export