Text Preview Suggestions

Hello fellow Glyphs App users,

I’m relatively new to the Glyphs App ecosystem and am trying to find the best way to preview fonts, specifically with a focus on Hebrew characters and glyphs with diacritics.

I attempted to use TextPreview on MacOS 12.5 but had some challenges. For instance, the “File > Open…” option was unavailable, despite pointing the font path to several valid sources.

Within the Glyphs App itself, I encountered some issues when attempting to combine the base character א (alef) with the diacritic, Patah. Instead of merging, they appeared in separate cells. I’ve tried different methods to solve this but am still facing challenges.

I’ve occasionally used FontBook, but I find it a bit tricky to navigate and am unsure of its reliability. I’d love to have a built-in solution in Glyphs App for a seamless experience, but I’m also open to third-party suggestions.

Any advice or alternative tools to make this process smoother would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

You can test your exported fonts in a wide variety of ways. My two main ways are testing in Adobe apps and on a web page.

For testing in Adobe apps, read this: Testing your fonts in Adobe apps | Glyphs

For a web app, a very solid choice is FontGauntlet.com.

1 Like

I use FontGoggles to preview and verify fonts. It works with both static and variable fonts, and it does both GSUB and GPOS unlike Glyphs that only previews GSUB.

https://fontgoggles.org

1 Like

That is intentional in Edit view. Make sure you add all necessary anchors in both glyphs, and you add at least one instance in Font Info > Exports, then you can use Window > Text Preview for previewing mark positioning.

1 Like