Troubleshooting when a script stops working

Hi there —

I recently ran into a problem with the Alex Slobzheninov collection of scripts that I use on a daily basis when, all of the sudden, they stopped working (I run the script but nothing happens). I’m not a developer or coder but know enough to check the macro panel after attempting to run a script unsuccessfully and receive an error message of the following:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Align Left.py", line 298
    cpsPressed = NSEvent.modifierFlags() & cpsKeyFlag == cpsKeyFlag
NameError: name 'NSEvent' is not defined

I’ve never had any issues with running this collection of scripts until a few days ago but didn’t change any of my preferences, plugins, operating system, or anything at all that I can think of. I even attempted running the script in older versions of G3 that worked previously but was unable to find a version that worked anymore.

For someone like myself with very limited coding capability, what troubleshooting can be recommended to find the root cause & solution to a broken script like this?

Thanks!
Jeremy

Can you find the python file of that script? At the beginning of the script, can you add the following:

from Foundation import NSEvent

Ooops, sorry, I updated the scrips and missed that part. Thanks @SCarewe!
The update includes aligning any selection to the glyph metrics/center with Caps Lock on. Hit me up if you prefer the previous version.

Your suggestion worked!

After the very very beginning, I added your suggestion after the import NSPoint line:

DIRECTION = ‘Left’ # either ‘Left’ or ‘Right’
from math import radians, tan
from Foundation import NSPoint
from Foundation import NSEvent

@alexs Will you be updating your updates with this import NSEvent edit in the future? I trust you more than myselfl haha, but if the fix is as simple as adding the import NSEvent line I can just add that to the other python files and should be ok.

Thanks everyone for your help!