Using glyphs app with multiple monitors

Is it possible to use Glyphs app with multiple monitors? I’ve been thinking of using a second monitor but I haven’t found any mention of this anywhere including the forums.

Is it possible to have a setup like with RF or FL with multiple windows? In Glyphs case, I imagine it be a tab that is detached from the main window (i.e. one tab for text view, the main one for glyph editing)

1 Like

This question comes up once in a while. It is not possible.

How long did you use Glyphs by now?

I’ve been using glyphs app for 2 years now

I think this is one of the most requested features. I’m praying every night that this will happen soon…

Maybe we should start a MWM (Multiple Window Movement) ! :grinning: It worked for the otf UI of Adobe.

2 Likes

I ask people to try it for a few month with one monitor an then come back if you still think you need it. You are the first to do so. Way more people thanked me to concentrate on one screen – less turning heads.

What exactly do you think would be better with stuff on the second screen?

One thing that I can think of is a full paragraph of text that would update in real time. But that is not going to happen, mostly because of performance reasons. I might be able to implement it for basic latin text (as I did with the edit view). But people will use it for none latin, too. And that needs a proper Layout engine. There is HalfBuzz that can do that. But it needs a proper OpenType font. And I can’t produce new OTFs in real time.

So I could spend time to produce something that would only partially work, or I could do other things…

Too bad there are technical restrictions (at the moment).

I would use it mostly to compare texts in multiple sizes, context and weights (incl. Italics).

So you ask me to implement a complete layout app inside Glyphs?

That is why we propose the Indesign workflow. Testing your fonts in Adobe apps | Glyphs