Windows Port

is there any reason why there isn’t a windows port yet? I’m sure this has been asked before and I’m sure you must have noticed people showing a keen interest towards it from the windows commnunity.

This is the only app I’d wish to try from a mac standpoint and having to buy a mac to try this…There is of course the other way around which is using a virtualbox but that isn’t exactly legal, worse let’s assume you do it and spend 300 buying this app, what if it all just doesn’t work out? So again, can we be able to see a windows port in the future if so how long?

Regards

I’m a designer - i’m not a software engineer. To code for windows I would need at least three of the latter, programming for the Mac is so much easier. Even Microsoft itself is faster making Office for iPad than for there own Surface platform.

You can try VirtualBox with the free test version from the website (and I recommend buying it from the website, too).

Georg Seifert
Hi,

Thanks for replying so soon. I’m a designer myself and don’t code. I could try the trial version but the thing is isn’t using macosx via a VM considered illegal according to EULA?(read it on stackoverflow somewhere). If it’s not then should I go with mavericks or snow leopard? Mavericks is free but I wouldn’t mind buying leopard if that’s where glyphsapp works best. Also how do you tell if it works well, are there any key things I should look for to check for breakage? If it passes, then I suppose we can safely assume it works for the pro version too?

Why would you want to use Snow Leopard? It’s the third version behind Mavericks. Mountain Lion (10.8) was the one prior to Mavericks and it works just fine.

George Thomas
Oh so you’ve tried it using vbox and it works just fine? I forgot about lion, I’m not exactly very familiar with the mac OS versions.

There are some problems with Snow Leopard. I strongly recommend 10.7 or later. Glyphs works great in Mavericks.

mekkablue