My font looks too big in InDesign

Hey!

I am studying Graphic Design and doing Type Design as my BA. I have only had 3 weeks of Type Design during my bachelor, so i am quite inexperienced. Just to clarify as I think the solution to my problem is quite obvious to most of you.

When I export my font it is quite a lot bigger than other fonts in InDesign. Here it is next to Arizona which has similar vertical metrics. The UpE is set to 1000 and the metrics are as follow:

800 16 Ascender
780 16 Cap Height
545 16 xHeight
0 -16 Baseline
-200 -16 Descender

What am I doing wrong?

Can you post an image of the Arizona metrics for comparison please?

Skærmbillede 2022-04-21 kl. 19.49.13

Yours is bigger because the x-height values are significantly bigger. Your Cap Height value is even larger. If you want it to match Arizona height-wise, you have to draw it to those metrics.

From a design standpoint, you don’t have to match other font metrics exactly. You did yours the way you did it, and there isn’t anything wrong with that. Others may (or will) disagree with me on that.

1 Like

But if you do want to rescale the font this might be helpful

1 Like

You can just change the UPM value. Make it bigger and the font will look smaller.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for the response, makes some sense :wink:

There is still some thing I don’t understand.

Shouldnt they be the same size considering they are both 1000 UPE? Just with different destributions of the height? Why is my typeface taller overall than Arizona? Is it maybe just because the ascender height of Arizona doesnt go all the way to the ascender height? The descenders seem to match.

The typeface is to be my version of a Scotch Roman similar to Miller’s New Pica Roman No. 2. Therefore it also has similar proportions to a Century. Here it is besides ITC Century and I have matched the x-heights. So if they are both on 1000 UPE and the metrics are quite similar. why do I have to scale down my typeface almost 20% to match Century?