Showing nodes and handles in Drawbot with custom colours

Hello there, I’m a complete newbie both in Drawbot and Python so I apologise in advance.

What I am trying to achieve is a way to export on Drawbot a PNG (or a PDF I don’t mind) of a glyph from a font I created, with the handles and nodes of the Bezier curves showing, and set in custom colours. Like on this picture. I highly suspect it’s simple but I am a total beginner in scripting, I have been looking for over an hour and I can’t find anything related to this. I would super appreciate any advice please! Thank you so much!

1 Like

Hi, are you sure that was achieved in DrawBot? I myself am not aware of a way to display handles and nodes of a font (without converting it to a bezier object) in DrawBot.

Instead, for that, I highly recommend the Presenter Plugin by @mark. The free version might suffice but the full version is definitely more than worth its very modest price tag.

Thank you for your answer! I am 90% sure that one of my teacher showed it to us with Drawbot last year, but of course I might be wrong. Maybe that’s why I can’t seem to find anything related to it! I am definitely going to try the Presenter Plugin, thanks so much!

I wouldn’t be surprised if DrawBot was able to do so, I just haven’t found out how to do it myself. If you (or others here) find out, please let me/us know!

There was a script by Frak Grießhammer, unfortunately I can’t seem to find it at the moment.
It basically does what @SCarewe said, turning the glyph into a bezierpath object, drawing the outline and then you can loop through the contour and draw rectangles and circles where the on-/off-curve points are.

Although the presenter is nice and has I think 2 or 3 functionalities I wasn’t able to achieve with drawbot yet, drawbot is considerably cheaper (since it’s free).
Also if you know a bit of python, it is very well documented and together with the font parts docs you should be fine :slight_smile: