[Thai script] combining marks

Hello Forum. I just started learning Glyphs not long ago specifically for my thesis, which I am currently designing Latin type and Thai script. However, I have a problem combining Thai marks. Thai alphabets consist of 44 letters which ALL of them can be combined with all of the marks (vowels and tones), and also able to stacked themselves on top of each other.

I have read Glyphs Handbook and also many articles about setting ‘anchors’ and ‘mark to mark/mark to base positioning’ but I still don’t quite get it because I don’t usually do encoding or writing any script and feel more comfortable with designing new letters instead.

Can anybody explain to me step by step please?

Hi Alongkorn, glad to hear you’re working on Thai!

Each Thai consonant will need two anchors, these are where the marks will attach to:

Then, each mark will need anchors. Each anchor with an underscore will match up with the corresponding non-underscore anchor on a consonant. So here we have _topright which tells Glyphs to position the saraIi by looking at the topright anchor on a consonant:

The topright anchor on the saraIi tells Glyphs where to put any tonemark.

I’d recommend using the ‘Mark Preview’ plugin so you can see the effect of moving anchors around:

Hello. Thank you so much for the reply. I have tried this method already but when I do the testing by typing a consonant ‘ก’ and vowel ‘ี’, these two glyphs are still not connected through anchors.

Do you have the Mark Preview plugin enabled?

The mark positioning is not applied in the edit view (for various reasons). So the “Mark preview” plugin can help. Or use the mark cloud when you select an anchor.

When I enable Mark Preview plugin, this is what it shows on my screen once I type consonant ‘ก’ and follow by vowel ‘ี’';

Apparently two saraI appear on my screen.