Will Glyphs be supporting dark mode from macOS Mojave?

feature

More and more apps are supporting dark mode these days, but not being a developer myself, I am unfamiliar with the amount of work required to support the new feature.

It will. Not sure when.

Dark Mode would be awesome! :slight_smile:

It looks cool until you try to really get some work done :wink:

Dark mode is great when you want to work during night flights and presentations, just any time when you want to work without disturbing other people with my bright screen. I give it more credit than it just looks cool.

A lot of graphics, photo, and video apps already use a dark interface or have it as an option, and I think it works. It lets you focus more on the content area. I probably wouldn’t want the content area (edit and preview areas) to be dark, though.

In any case, no rush.

Having a dark mode would awesome!

I expect a Glyphs dark mode to assume the Ikarus aesthetic, green outlines on black :wink:

Would you expect the edit view to be white on black? I tried that and didn’t like it.

For font work I cannot imagine being satisfied with using dark mode.

I think white on dark grey would be more readable. Adobe apps let you chose between a few different shades and I never liked to work on the extremely dark one. But the mid-dark works very well in my opinion.

I think light grey on mid-grey or a “light pastel color” on mid-grey should work well for the edit view

The contrast is going to suffer. We‘ll need to play with this a bit.

Here is an example

It’s based on the dark Apple’s palette but the hue can me removed and contrast increased.
In other words - this is something to start with
More contrast:

(obviously I’m procrastinating)

All this dark mode stuff might work well if one has 20/20 vision but many of us don’t. If this is implemented in Glyphs it needs to be made optional.

Your example show the problem really well. It is almost invisible.